IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Shaver socket
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07 January 2013 11:26 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07 January 2013 11:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 6102
Joined: 04 July 2007

I usually wire shaver socket/transformer units into a lighting circuit but on this occasion there's a convenient 16 amp circuit nearby, is there any need to fuse down for the shaver transformer? I'm just wondering what the primary side of the transformer should be fused at, I could easily put an fcu in circuit if necessary, something i've never thought about before as always used 6a lighting circuit,

Dave.
 07 January 2013 11:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



mikejumper

Posts: 1701
Joined: 14 December 2006

Originally posted by: daveparry1
I usually wire shaver socket/transformer units into a lighting circuit but on this occasion there's a convenient 16 amp circuit nearby, is there any need to fuse down for the shaver transformer? I'm just wondering what the primary side of the transformer should be fused at....
Dave.

As there is no internal fuse I'd be inclined to drop it down to 5A.
 07 January 2013 11:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



DOUGIE1000

Posts: 4153
Joined: 13 August 2005

why not put a unswitched fused spur at 3 amps.

not forgotten about 30mA have you.


another option (ready for doubling up brigade) remove 16amp supply ie 2.5mm and clash into bathroom lighting mcb?

-------------------------
Dougie
Power Plus Electrical.co.uk

My mission is to live as long as possible......so far so good!
 07 January 2013 11:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



monk

Posts: 13
Joined: 08 December 2012

Have you checked the manufacturer's instructions on the shaver outlet you plan on fitting?
Otherwise it sounds pretty reasonable
 08 January 2013 09:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 6102
Joined: 04 July 2007

Thanks chaps, yes, fcu with 3 amp fuse it is then!
Dougie, I did think of putting it on the lighting circuit as I usually do but the place is wired to 16th so no rcd on lights although I suppose as it's isolated and the wiring will be outside the bathroom there's no need for it to be on rcd anyway but I will use the 16a circuit which is on rcd and fit an fcu,

Dave.
 08 January 2013 10:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



AJJewsbury

Posts: 11270
Joined: 13 August 2003

place is wired to 16th so no rcd on lights ... but I will use the 16a circuit which is on rcd and fit an fcu,

And connect the 16A circuit's c.p.c. into the supplementary bonding?
- Andy.
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.