IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Labgear distribution ?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 19 December 2012 05:53 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 19 December 2012 05:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



goldenboy1818

Posts: 447
Joined: 22 February 2011

Hi has anyone used these labgear distribution systems before ? Would like a little help , what fitting is required at the box it says quadplexed but does it have to be quadplexed plus return ?
 21 December 2012 06:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



goldenboy1818

Posts: 447
Joined: 22 February 2011

Any help please ?
 21 December 2012 06:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for Rulland.
Rulland

Posts: 435
Joined: 11 April 2008

Your question is a bit confusing matey, can you elaborate?, give details of box your questioning?, ta

-------------------------
Those who make no mistakes do very little work!!......
 21 December 2012 07:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



goldenboy1818

Posts: 447
Joined: 22 February 2011

I'm sorry mate at the sky box
 21 December 2012 08:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 5893
Joined: 04 July 2007

TV aerial installation and distribution systems are a very specialised field Goldenboy, I spent over 40 years as a television engineer and although during the course of repairs to tv/s some aerial work was involved I never got involved with distribution systems as such, they were always handled by people with the necessary experience and equipment. Best to keep away from this type of work if you don't really understand what's involved. Sorry to put it this way but I think you'll be doing yourself and your client a favour by keeping clear of this job,

Dave.
 21 December 2012 09:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for colinhaggett.
colinhaggett

Posts: 350
Joined: 08 July 2004

Originally posted by: goldenboy1818

Hi has anyone used these labgear distribution systems before ? Would like a little help , what fitting is required at the box it says quadplexed but does it have to be quadplexed plus return ?


I take it you want the two LNB feeds and UHF at the SKY box and then the RF2 back up. Just fit a the quadplex outlet and return easy. Leave aerials and dishes to others, but the rest is easy. Even putting dishes up isn't that hard with a smart phone app and signal meter. Oh and always use good cable like CT100 and CT125 on longer runs plus fit deep boxes.

 21 December 2012 09:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



goldenboy1818

Posts: 447
Joined: 22 February 2011

Does it have to be a quadplex Plus return ? Is that always on a double (double socket size) outlet ?
 21 December 2012 09:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



impvan

Posts: 707
Joined: 07 September 2005

I'm assuming here that you've either got a skyplus box, or are at least future-proofing and allowing for one.... Starting at one end:

The skyplus box needs 2 sat feeds. If you use a quad plate that's your two feeds: sat+uhf+radio down one coax, and just sat down the other.

If you want a uhf return to feed sky to other tv's etc, then you will need another coax run. The quad plate is modular; use a 2g frame with quad module + return module + blank module.

IF you're using a non-recording sat box which only needs one feed then the SAT-2 on the quad plate can be your return.
 02 January 2013 08:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



goldenboy1818

Posts: 447
Joined: 22 February 2011

Thanks impvan. So I need a 2 gang plate, which will be one module a quadplex ( two sat tvs, two normal tv) one blank, and a return. What actually is the return ? And for the rest of the tv aerial plates I take it normal outlet plates will be ok ? I don't want to bother with dab and phone line
 04 January 2013 11:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



AlanKay

Posts: 232
Joined: 09 July 2002

This Triax system might be similar to your Labgear one.
The PDF shows how it all fits together, and you can even get a suitable faceplate for all services.

http://www.triax.co.uk/upload/dduwebpage.pdf

HTH

Alan

-------------------------
Alan Kay, CEng MIEE
 04 January 2013 07:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



goldenboy1818

Posts: 447
Joined: 22 February 2011

Thanks Alan that did help , what outlets do I need around the house can it just be a single tv outlet ? 1 tv point on faceplate ?
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.