IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Sub main ???
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08 December 2012 07:20 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08 December 2012 07:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



goldenboy1818

Posts: 478
Joined: 22 February 2011

Need to install one fuseboard in a house, but there is going to be a sort of flat on the side which will need it's own board. What is the best way to do this ? Was thinking splitting main tails with Henley blocks , to household board and a switch fuse isolator . From the isolator then a very small run to fuse board in the flat side. Would this cable need to be armour ?
 08 December 2012 08:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 2848
Joined: 09 September 2005

depends how you run the cable, if none of it is buried less than 50mm from the surface then no. If it is then swa or 30m/a rcd.

Gary

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 12 December 2012 09:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



goldenboy1818

Posts: 478
Joined: 22 February 2011

Could I run the cables from the switch fuse to the second fuse board in 25mm meter tails ? It will be no more than a meter from the switch fuse to second board ? And about 2 meters from meter to switch fuse. If I go the t&e route I'm guessing 16mm and 63 amp switch fuse ? Or could I go 80 amp ?
 12 December 2012 09:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for slittle.
slittle

Posts: 3523
Joined: 22 November 2007

If it's within 3m which you sort of suggest it is and the tails aren't buried then henley block the two sets of tails together and job done unless you want isolation for the board in the flat from the house


Stu
 12 December 2012 09:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



goldenboy1818

Posts: 478
Joined: 22 February 2011

I guess I don't have to have isolation for the flat in the house ? Tails coming in from outside meter box won't be surface but rest will/can be
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.