IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Submains from TT supply
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04 December 2012 01:48 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04 December 2012 01:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



koicarpus

Posts: 35
Joined: 14 June 2010

Hi chaps.
I need to run a supply to a new house which has just been built from a new TT supply which is located in small shed roughly 15 meters from the house.
I intent to run a 16mm 2 core swa from source using a 63A 100ma time delayed RCD.
Inside the house we intend to gland the swa into a plastic adaptable box, then run the inner cores to the D.B.
From the D.B. we intend to run a piece of 10mm earth via a small duct outside to a stake.
D.B. will obviously be a split load 17th jobby, so all circuits will be 30ma protected.
Does that sound ok?
Cheers in advance.
 04 December 2012 01:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OMS.
OMS

Posts: 19471
Joined: 23 March 2004

How is the armour earthed ? - ie which end and which RCD - will you have an electrode at the shed end ?

Regards

OMS

-------------------------
Failure is always an option
 04 December 2012 02:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



koicarpus

Posts: 35
Joined: 14 June 2010

The armour will be earthed at the supply end in the shed from the existing db, it has it's own stake. I believe there is already a submains feeding a caravan, so it's in use.
Sorry what do you mean by which RCD? Make or type?
 04 December 2012 02:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



koicarpus

Posts: 35
Joined: 14 June 2010

I haven't had a close look at the supply db as yet.
But I was thinking something along the lines of somehow coming out the non RCD side of the db if possible or using Henley blocks, to feed a little consumer unit with a 100ma type s RCD main switch with a 63A mcb for overload protection.
Or there maybe even a 100ma RCD main switch in the existing db, in which case could I just use 63A mcb inside the db and just gland my swa straight in?
My next visit is in a months time!!
 04 December 2012 02:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OMS.
OMS

Posts: 19471
Joined: 23 March 2004

Originally posted by: koicarpus

The armour will be earthed at the supply end in the shed from the existing db, it has it's own stake. I believe there is already a submains feeding a caravan, so it's in use.

OK - not clear in your OP

Sorry what do you mean by which RCD? Make or type?

Which one rather than make or type - in the absense of knowing about the source end electrode, I thought you were going to earth the armour to the house end stake



Regards

OMS

-------------------------
Failure is always an option
 04 December 2012 02:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OMS.
OMS

Posts: 19471
Joined: 23 March 2004

Originally posted by: koicarpus

I haven't had a close look at the supply db as yet.

But I was thinking something along the lines of somehow coming out the non RCD side of the db if possible or using Henley blocks, to feed a little consumer unit with a 100ma type s RCD main switch with a 63A mcb for overload protection.

I'd use henley blocks - sometime the caravan supply will get ditched I guess

Or there maybe even a 100ma RCD main switch in the existing db, in which case could I just use 63A mcb inside the db and just gland my swa straight in?

You could - but see above


My next visit is in a months time!!

All be revealed then



Regards

OMS

-------------------------
Failure is always an option
 04 December 2012 02:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



koicarpus

Posts: 35
Joined: 14 June 2010

Thanks oms
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.