IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: change of direction safe zones
Topic Summary:
Created On: 29 November 2012 02:22 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 29 November 2012 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



beaver74

Posts: 361
Joined: 07 February 2007

afternoon
i have looked at a property, concrete floor/ceiling and customer want additional sockets in some rooms. in each room there is 1 socket 300mm from 1 corner of the room,the customer is asking for additional sockets.I intend to run around room in a new boxing which is to house radiator pipes ,and will allow for additional temperature. my question is the existing socket are at 450mm from floor and as such the cable will need to be run horizontily from socket into the corner and change direction down.
the cables will change direction with in the 150mm safe zone of the corner ,is this compliant as I would normaly have a box at the change of dirrection but this is not acceptible with customer ,circuit is to be RCD protected.
thanks in advance
 29 November 2012 02:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



AJJewsbury

Posts: 11442
Joined: 13 August 2003

the cables will change direction with in the 150mm safe zone of the corner ,is this compliant

Yup.

.I intend to run around room in a new boxing which is to house radiator pipes ,and will allow for additional temperature

Given that CH pipes can run at above 70 degrees ... that might be interesting!

Can't you simply go horizontally around the room?

- Andy.
 29 November 2012 04:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 6200
Joined: 04 July 2007

Insulating the pipes whithin the boxing would be worthwhile,

Dave.
 29 November 2012 07:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



beaver74

Posts: 361
Joined: 07 February 2007

pipes shall be laged and a compartment at the bottom formed.the circuit is a ring so I have calculated cable using 21A,
I have used ref B (4D2A)
and factored for 50 degress temperature (table 4B1).

which comes out as 4.00mm T&e

does this sound OK can any one see a floor in this, i know it will be tight in the sockets.I will investigate possibility of a horizontal chase across wall but they were not to happy.

cheers

Edited: 29 November 2012 at 09:38 PM by beaver74
 29 November 2012 07:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for Parsley.
Parsley

Posts: 1003
Joined: 04 November 2004

Do you really need a 32 amp rated circuit?

Regards
 29 November 2012 09:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



beaver74

Posts: 361
Joined: 07 February 2007

Originally posted by: Parsley

Do you really need a 32 amp rated circuit?



Regards


probably not but I intend to put on a 20A but wish to future proof against them wanting it as a 32A
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.