Increase font size
Topic Title: Certifying my own work
Topic Summary:
Created On: 20 November 2012 09:20 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 20 November 2012 09:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

martin150

Hi all, i am doing a full 3 bed semi re-wire for a family friend. They want a installation cert. after it is done.

Am i able to pass this to them myself? I am confident in testing, but I am not part p, nor registered with a NICEIC etc, as i work for a large engineering company, but I am a qualified electrician - NVQ 2&3, BTEC - electrical/electronic engineering, C&G 2392, 17th edition. Does this deem me as competant for new works?

I have searched high and low and i think i can, but i cannot come up with a concrete answer, so i have resorted to posting a thread.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
 20 November 2012 09:30 PM

daveparry1

You can issue them an EIC but the job will need to be notified to Building Control, also they should have been notified before you started the work if you're not registered on a competent person scheme. It is all explained in the part P regulations,

Dave.
 20 November 2012 09:37 PM

SKElectrical

Your experience may well make you competent, although I think you need to have 17th edition knowledge to adequately do the rewire (including certification).

But even all of the above doesn't comply with building regulations, which is what your local authority wants.
Some local authorities (very few) are happy if the electrician can prove competency - but this would usually require qualifications in testing and current wiring regs
 20 November 2012 10:27 PM

Martynduerden

This question always irritates me, though not irritated at the op