IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Oven and hob
Topic Summary:
Created On: 26 September 2012 11:51 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 26 September 2012 11:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



GJH

Posts: 501
Joined: 24 January 2008

Hi

Been to a job today where customer has bought a 6.8kw induction hob and seperate 4.2kw oven. The existing supply is a 6.0mm cable less than 10m from the fuse board.

Checking the onsite guide and applying diversity you take the first 10A of each cooking appliance current rating and then it's 30% of the remaining current rating + 5A if there is a socket on the outlet switch. Both units are hard wired from the manufacturers with what looks like a 2.5mm HR flex.

My calculations is that without a socket outlet on the switch it works out to about 27.8A.

I think the existing installation will be ok? But just looking for some reassurances or opinions. Or if I have got it wrong.

Customer is a young couple and house is pretty new.

Thanks in advance
 27 September 2012 08:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 6246
Joined: 04 July 2007

It will be fine GJH, in fact a standard 6.00mm t/e circuit is ok up to 15kW (subject to reference method, cable not surrounded by insulation etc)

Dave.
 27 September 2012 09:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OMS.
OMS

Posts: 19747
Joined: 23 March 2004

Probably more sensible to think of the "seperates" being a single "cooker"

At 240V, that would give a demand after diversity of about 20A - well within the capacity of a 6.0mm2 T&E

As Dave points out, even with a S/O, you could quite happily put a 15kW cooker on a 6.0mm2 cable with 30/32A protection (in a domestic setting)

Regards

OMS

-------------------------
Failure is always an option
 27 September 2012 09:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Jaymack

Posts: 4677
Joined: 07 April 2004

Originally posted by: GJH
I think the existing installation will be ok? But just looking for some reassurances or opinions. Or if I have got it wrong.

Should be OK, the maker usually gives recommendations on the kW loading etc., I use a 45A, easyfit, dual outlet plate as made by Click, their "Polar Accessories" - PRW 217.

Regards
 27 September 2012 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



antric2

Posts: 1072
Joined: 20 October 2006

I may be incorrect here,but, I dont think induction hobs are allowed a diversified load.They have to be rated at full load.Check with the manufacturer or if you are registered,check with your scheme help line.

I will try to find where I read about induction hobs and full load.

Them Click dual boxes that Jaymack mentions are absolutely spot on and well recommended.
Regards
Antric
 27 September 2012 10:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



GJH

Posts: 501
Joined: 24 January 2008

Thanks for the replies, much appreciated guys. Will check out the dual boxes, cheers
 02 October 2012 07:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OldSparky.
OldSparky

Posts: 592
Joined: 28 June 2011

anyway the fuse will only trip, so the cable should be ok
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.