Increase font size
Topic Title: Can I carry out EICR
Topic Summary:
Created On: 26 September 2012 07:44 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 26 September 2012 07:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

stillon7029

Hi, just finding out from regular sparks if I can supply the necessary
test cert that would satisfy a landlords certificate?

I am a qualified Approved electrician and semi retired and have taken and received 17th C and G but have not taken 2391.

I do a few installations per year but mostly Industrial and Agricultural so have not taken part P as if I do a domestic installation I notify building control.

The question is I have been asked to carry out a test and report on a rented property for a family member and produce a cert for the landlord.
I assume this is EICR form 6 ?

Am I allowed to do this and if so how far do I take it with regards to full inspection including continuity on ring mains , or should I call in a NEIC or similar contractor?

Many thanks in advance for advice.

Stillon 7029
 26 September 2012 08:53 PM

mikejumper

Originally posted by: stillon7029
I do a few installations per year but mostly Industrial and Agricultural so have not taken part P as if I do a domestic installation I notify building control.

Part P doesn't apply to EICR's.

Anyone can carry out EICR's, but it's your signature on it, so needless to say, you need to know what you're doing.

As to the extent of testing required, agree it with your customer beforehand.
 26 September 2012 08:59 PM

daveparry1

Stillon, I take it that you and your client are aware that there's no legal requirement for a landlords certificate for electrics in a rental property?
(unlike gas!)

Dave.
 26 September 2012 09:41 PM

rutts

Originally posted by: daveparry1