IET logo

IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Advice on finding work.....
Topic Summary:
Created On: 17 August 2012 12:43 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 17 August 2012 12:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

DavidSinclair

Hi all..

I have been working for a large housing association for the last 7 years as a sub contractor doing testing and remedial works on there void (empty properties) anything up to 10 a week and have a couple of people who help me out as and when needed.

As of September they are doing all the work in house

This is my fault and my fault only as I have got myself in a situation where I have had all my eggs in one basket...When I went self employed 6 years ago I was doing other bits and pieces but as the phone stopped ringing (noticed a huge slow down from about 2010) I accepted all the work they could give me.....

Because I have had my head buried in the sand it now seems that little people like myself have serious problems getting the good stuff. Buidling sites and renovations no longer seem to have lots of little people and seem to be big companies carrying out the work.

I have tried a few housing associations so far but none have been very positive as I am just another electrician looking to sub contract..they must get loads contacting them now the building industry has slowed down. Three of the five ive contacted have said they do everything in house and the other two said its not worth registering with them....

There are 104 housing associations in Dorset and Hampshire so I am going to try and go through the list.

What do you think is the best approach is when contacting them? I am asuming its best to talk to the contracts manager or similar on the phone, write letters or try and get a meeting etc?