IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: isolation switch for pir flood light
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03 July 2012 05:47 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03 July 2012 05:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



peajay

Posts: 7
Joined: 26 February 2012

Hi all does any one know if an isolation switch is needed for a pir flood light.
 03 July 2012 05:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 6200
Joined: 04 July 2007

Doesn't have to have one but it's very useful, saves turning off the complete circuit for maintenance plus most pir lights have an override facility which is activated by switching on/off/on whithin a certain time,

dave.
 03 July 2012 06:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



peajay

Posts: 7
Joined: 26 February 2012

But its where to put one on the premises without it looking ugly.
 03 July 2012 06:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



mikejumper

Posts: 1714
Joined: 14 December 2006

Originally posted by: peajay
Hi all does any one know if an isolation switch is needed for a pir flood light.

On more than one occasion I've been called to look at a 'faulty' PIR floodlight, only to find that someone has switched it off.
They usually then say; 'Oh I always wondered what that switch was for'.
If you can fit one and clearly identify it, then I'd say it's worth doing, otherwise not usually needed.
 03 July 2012 06:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OMS.
OMS

Posts: 19656
Joined: 23 March 2004

Start with the security considerations - if you provide a nice masterseal switch adjacent to the floodlight, any little toerag can switch of the fitting with a brush handle !!

You don't really need one for isolation - operationally, an internal lightswitch might be useful

Regards

OMS

-------------------------
Failure is always an option
 03 July 2012 08:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Grumpy

Posts: 428
Joined: 09 January 2009

They can be very handy when they go wrong, I've found them to be the most unreliable little buggers. It's helpful to be able to turn them off when the sensors fail so that they're not blasting out 500W 24/7. Personally, I always install a switch with a big label on it somewhere out of the way.
 04 July 2012 11:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for jsa986.
jsa986

Posts: 472
Joined: 08 February 2011

In answer to your question No it is not needed.

-------------------------
www.icertifi.co.uk
Electrical & Gas Certificates on iPhone & iPad
 04 July 2012 12:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 6200
Joined: 04 July 2007

But very useful!
 04 July 2012 12:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



ArthurHall

Posts: 735
Joined: 25 July 2008

A suitably IP rated 16A plug and socket next to the fitting is handy for local isolation. Also makes it easy to take the fitting down to free off corroded screws etc.
 04 July 2012 08:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



mikejumper

Posts: 1714
Joined: 14 December 2006

Originally posted by: ArthurHall
A suitably IP rated 16A plug and socket next to the fitting is handy for local isolation. Also makes it easy to take the fitting down to free off corroded screws etc.

Handy also for plugging your lawnmower in if you've got one of those Eco houses with a grass roof; saves hoisting the goat up there every month.
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.