IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Strange Situation
Topic Summary: To Earth Loop or Not
Created On: 15 June 2012 07:48 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 15 June 2012 07:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



keithredpath

Posts: 419
Joined: 30 March 2002

Having completed a Periodic Inspection last year on a site with 25 buildings and highlighted numerous circuits which do not meet disconnection times due to high earth loop tests, (I was not given access to the main sub station at the time)

I am now informed that I will get access to the sub station now but not allowed to do an earth loop test because there is a Hazardous Area on site which was excluded from my original inspection.

Why was earth loop testing not highlighted as a potential risk at the time of inspection?

Why is earth loop testing seen as a risk in the main sub station when there are buildings throughout the other installations which contain metal workshops, wood workshops, garages and welding equipment, etc.

-------------------------
keithredpath
 15 June 2012 08:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Fm

Posts: 655
Joined: 24 August 2011

What is the classification of the hazardous Area?

Have you seen A Dsear report for the site?

You need to tell us more first
 15 June 2012 11:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



keithredpath

Posts: 419
Joined: 30 March 2002

If you phone me on 07880-838-601 I can give you the details. There is a lot of politics going on.

-------------------------
keithredpath
 15 June 2012 11:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Fm

Posts: 655
Joined: 24 August 2011

The risk should have been considered before testing, how about the tender stage?
How about when the method statements and risk assessments were created, were signed onto?
Sounds like a typical testing company set up
 16 June 2012 09:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



keithredpath

Posts: 419
Joined: 30 March 2002

The site is used for the storage and delivery of natural gas.

-------------------------
keithredpath
 16 June 2012 12:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Fm

Posts: 655
Joined: 24 August 2011

I would have thought a minimum requirement would be compex qualification.
What about all this ex gear? Do you have gas monitors, are you issued permits?
Does your company have enough insurance for this?
Have a look at comah for more information, and ask your boss for more info before there is an incident
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.