Topic Title: Grr - LABC changing goalposts
Topic Summary:
Created On: 28 March 2012 04:51 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 18 May 2012 11:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

NickSims

Hi there everyone, I've really enjoyed reading this debate. As a newbie, to the forum that is, I wonder then if anyone can help. I've been training for past 3 years and am now fully qualified, apart from the 2391(which I'm taking this year). I've done a few minor jobs for my parents, and they've appreciated my advice and knowledge, so I've 'tinkered' a bit there, which is great experience. I'm limited a bit through lack of test equipment, but my work is guaranteed safe and complies with regulations. In the next week or so I'm buying an MFT, so that I can properly test my work and issue minor works certs with results. Now, I'm currently unemployed due to health issues, my training has helped keep my head together. I'm biting at the bit do more work, paid or unpaid and gain more experience. I've got some application packs from 3 of the scheme providers, I'm going to join 1, but money is an issue, so can't really afford to do that yet. Can someone advise me on where the land lies if I ONLY do minor works, ie do BC need to be informed about these jobs, and can I issue the certs to the customer....with all findings and test results, and as for getting customers it's going to be word of mouth and maybe a little ad at the newsagents.I can't for see a massive customer database forming yet, so jobs are only going to be every now and then. I hope you can understand my dilemma, any advice would be great.

Nick
.....If I posted in the wrong place, sorry.

-------------------------
Nick

Student Member of The IET.
 19 May 2012 12:33 AM

Legh

Nick,