IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: NVQ 3
Topic Summary: Confused. Should I?
Created On: 03 July 2011 10:54 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03 July 2011 10:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



TheShrew

Posts: 36
Joined: 07 May 2011

I have been in this trade now for about 5 yrs. I took the night time college route whilst working full time for a contractor.
Qualifications to date; 2330 level 2 and 3, 2382 and 2391 (all payed for by myself). The college didn't really make any mention of the NVQ 3, and my then- employer didn't worry about it either.
Of late, I'm wondering it was a mistake in not doing it, with all this talk of QS (which I'm not) minimum qualifications etc. As I understand it, without this I'm still not classed as an 'electrician,' something my college or employer never made mention of. I'm PAYE and don't work for a JIB company, so would it be worth me trying (dependant on finance/ variety of work) to complete this in your opinion?
I can't imagine working the rest of my career not being recognised as an electrician, but can't see the value of the qualification to me currently (it certainly wouldn't result in any extra pay...).
Any (sensible) views appreciated.

Regards, TheShrew.

(sorry about long winded post)
 03 July 2011 11:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for sparkingchip.
sparkingchip

Posts: 6038
Joined: 18 January 2003

How old are you?

Andy
 03 July 2011 11:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



TheShrew

Posts: 36
Joined: 07 May 2011

27. Although I don't look a day over 35.

Regards, TheShrew
 03 July 2011 11:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for sparkingchip.
sparkingchip

Posts: 6038
Joined: 18 January 2003

!"££$%^ I think you could have had some funding if you are under 27, that's how it was when I trained up. As I had turned 40 at the time I did not do the NVQ there was only one guy out of around 15 of us on the course that did, as he was under 27. I was going to do the AM2 but didn't and that is a very long story not fit to be told here

Andy

Stu the tiler and his side kick are doing NVQ 2 in Floor and Wall Tiling by assessment to get a CSC card to go on "proper" sites that doesn't sound too demanding and Chris's mum is paying for his as a birthday present, you could do that instead
 04 July 2011 11:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for zeeper.
zeeper

Posts: 1409
Joined: 11 July 2008

college didn't really make any mention of the NVQ 3


I have the old 2360 qualifications and wanted to make sure I was future proof.

So I did the NVQ 3 electrotechnical with Quickstep .It only took 8 weeks to complete in my spare time. City and guilds have a minimum 10 week thing so.
After 10 weeks the quickstep people claimed my cert and I received it after about 12 weeks.

It was easy to complete, no visits to college either. You need to be working in the industry.This is not a teaching course its an assessment of your skills and knowledge. As you will need lots of pics of you in action as evidence.

It is expensive tho £750 ish

Edited: 04 July 2011 at 11:43 AM by zeeper
 04 July 2011 12:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for kj scott.
kj scott

Posts: 2144
Joined: 02 April 2006

If you have qualified in the last 5 years it would make snse to attain the NVQ 3, as it was current at the time of your initial training. If you qualified pre-NVQ, then your existing qualifications must be recognised.
I wonder how many of the registration scheme assessors, and college assessors hold NVQ 3?

-------------------------
http://www.niceic.biz
 04 July 2011 12:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



marclambert

Posts: 310
Joined: 23 June 2010

Hi The Shrew, depending on where you are there may be some funding available. It changes very rapidly as new deals come out. You could try your local Business Link or job centre as they should be aware of grants/funding available in your location.
One problem is that the C&G 2356(NVQ3) is no longer fundable as part of an apprenticeship, so the other funding streams may also have changed. We operate in the southwest and do offer the NVQ still, if you want to chat PM me and I'll give you my best advice.
Regards
Marc
 04 July 2011 01:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for zeeper.
zeeper

Posts: 1409
Joined: 11 July 2008

If you qualified pre-NVQ, then your existing qualifications must be recognised.


I seem to remember reading somewhere that in the future it would be forseen that all operatives would hold the NVQ3 as a minimum. I believe the real NICEIC and friends want to make it a minimum requirement for the role of QS (AUGUST rings a bell) Or have I got that bit wrong.
 04 July 2011 03:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for kj scott.
kj scott

Posts: 2144
Joined: 02 April 2006

August is now January 2012, but with recognition of equivalent earlier qualifications and experience.

-------------------------
http://www.niceic.biz
 04 July 2011 03:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



John Peckham

Posts: 7459
Joined: 23 April 2005

Am I reading the bumff correctly they are inventing an NVQ3 in I&T?

-------------------------
John Peckham

http://www.astutetechnicalservices.co.uk/
 04 July 2011 04:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for zeeper.
zeeper

Posts: 1409
Joined: 11 July 2008

but with recognition of equivalent earlier qualifications and experience


It will be interesting to see how long the "regs + 2391" brigade, will keep there grand father rights for being a QS.
 04 July 2011 04:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for Jobbo.
Jobbo

Posts: 912
Joined: 08 July 2010

John

The current NVQ3 is made up of 8 units, so I was under the impression that they would need you to have the I&T part of it

They consist of:

1: Ensure safe site working
2: Diagnose and correct electrical faults
3: Provide technical and functional information
4: Maintain a safe and healthy working environment

You also do 4 specialist units:

5: Prepare to install wiring systems, wiring enclosures and equipment
6: Install wiring systems, wiring enclosures and equipment
7: Connect wiring systems and equipment using safe and approved methods
8: Inspect, test and commission an electrical installation

Regards

Jobbo
 04 July 2011 06:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Snapey

Posts: 401
Joined: 21 September 2009

I never did my NVQ3 either but have never really needed it as i never work on sites or under a JIB company?
I see that NICEIC are requesting it for the Quality Supervisors? What happens if you are already a member but do not hold this qualification?

Regards
 04 July 2011 06:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



prtadko

Posts: 299
Joined: 09 December 2010

hi there. i am in the same possition as your good self, as i am sure a great deal of others are. I have 2330 level 3 and 2 completed in 2007 and c&g 2382. because of my job (building maintenance / hvac / bms controls) that is all i ever needed to do. and it is all that a previous employer would pay for! When ever i go for a new job the only qualification i am ever asked for is my 17th. I did ask a college about doing the nvq but it basicly came out that i dont do enough or variety of install to complete it in a decient time frame. point in case i have only installed new conduit 2 times in the last few years. verification, yes. fault finding, yes. componant replacement, yes. reading drawings, H&S, blah blah blah, yes yes yes yes. just not enough install variety.

so there you go.
 04 July 2011 06:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OMS.
OMS

Posts: 19666
Joined: 23 March 2004

What happens if you are already a member but do not hold this qualification?


Well first there is a public stoning with Fluke voltsticks, followed by a session on the ducking stool just to remind you of the dangers of section 701 and 702 installations, head gets shaved then it's the araldite and goose feathers on the unmentionables (for no other reason other than they can)

You then have to walk around with a big placard stating "I'm an unbeliever but I will repent and get an NVQ 3"

In another reality though, I suspect nothing will happen on the basis of a few grandfather rights

Take your pick

regards

OMS

-------------------------
Failure is always an option
 04 July 2011 08:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



ant1uk

Posts: 2376
Joined: 22 June 2010

Originally posted by: OMS
I suspect nothing will happen on the basis of a few grandfather rights


That is correct as long as they don't change the goal posts

I did the NVQ3 when it first came out and did it to safe guard myself. It was really easy to do and didn't take me long. I used to get a bit of stick onsite though for taking photos of my work all the time.


I only paid about £400 and didn't have to do the ecs test for 5 years as it covers you to excuse it.
The hardest bit was waiting until we did some piro to complete my folder. I also got hold of as much data as I could like method statements, risk assessments, site drawings. manufacturers data for equipment appliances etc then a little write up on each task. Simples!
 04 July 2011 08:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



TheShrew

Posts: 36
Joined: 07 May 2011

Thanks for all the replies.
Assuming I wanted to start up on my own in a few years, as a sole trader would I not then be classed as the QS for the company, and therefore need the NVQ to get accredited? My other concern is that if/ when the current NVQ gets scrapped, I don't want to be in the position where I have to redo/ repay for courses already completed in order to get the NVQ. Conversely, I could do without spending £600+ (and extra for the AM2, which I assume is also needed?) for something which will be of no benefit to me at the moment. Never simple, eh?

Regards, TheShrew
 04 July 2011 08:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



ant1uk

Posts: 2376
Joined: 22 June 2010

If you can get signed up on it now before it finishes it will be a lot easier than the newer route that replaces it. If you think its hard now the new one is even harder!
 05 July 2011 07:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Snapey

Posts: 401
Joined: 21 September 2009

Does anyone have any links to companies offering the fasttrack method for NVQ3?
 30 September 2012 10:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



thesnowman

Posts: 7
Joined: 23 July 2011

Originally posted by: zeeper

college didn't really make any mention of the NVQ 3




I have the old 2360 qualifications and wanted to make sure I was future proof.



So I did the NVQ 3 electrotechnical with Quickstep .It only took 8 weeks to complete in my spare time. City and guilds have a minimum 10 week thing so.

After 10 weeks the quickstep people claimed my cert and I received it after about 12 weeks.



It was easy to complete, no visits to college either. You need to be working in the industry.This is not a teaching course its an assessment of your skills and knowledge. As you will need lots of pics of you in action as evidence.



It is expensive tho £750 ish


i need to get my nvq asap
got some questions for you zeeper if you dont mind answering


how many site diaries did you have to do...3? so thats 3 different jobs
jeez, i thought this was supposed to be simple, everyone on the forum seems to be saying that

i guess it would be for a poxy school leaver on an apprenticeship with all the time to kill but i'm 33 and dont have that luxary


from what i gather 1 diary = 1 job from beginning to end , but not every job involves testing or fault finding, can you combine them with previous jobs where you did fault finding?

how many photos did you need

whats the minimal amount of pics needed to pass, dont wanna waste time taking too many pictures and find out that they're not the right pics

how much writing did you need to do for the performance objective, is it ok to copy and paste from samples?

i know to some it might sound like i'm a lazy git but when you invested 3 years of night classes and your still not classed as an electrician even though i've been in the game for over 10 years the last thing i wanna do is more school work, ive done my time

is it worth paying that extra for the assessor to do all the portfolio work which quickstep offers

just wanna get this out the way as soon as possible really
IET » Wiring and the regulations » NVQ 3

1 2 Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.