IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Old MK grid switch
Topic Summary: sources
Created On: 05 March 2010 01:06 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05 March 2010 01:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



mikejumper

Posts: 1706
Joined: 14 December 2006

I need to replace one 2 way MK gridswitch in a bank of about 12.
It's about 20 - 25 years old.
It's pot luck whether one will come up for sale on ebay.

So two questions:

Does anyone know of other sources?

If I need to replace the entire grid will the new MK system fit onto the old backbox?

Any advice appreciated,

Mike
 05 March 2010 02:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



normcall

Posts: 8119
Joined: 15 January 2005

Last question first - yes, but fixing threads will be imperial.

These are the old 'open' type with single fixing for each component? If so, you really haven't a hope unless someone has one just lying around. You might find you can replace one bank, but I think the front plate will be different.

Best I can do.

-------------------------
Norman
 05 March 2010 07:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



paulskyrme

Posts: 769
Joined: 12 February 2003

Last time I needed one I was around the corner from these people:
Swansons Lighting & Electrical01594 835900 Tufthorn Industrial Estate, Stepbridge Road, Coleford, Gloucestershire, GL16 8PJ
& they had one on the shelf! About 2 yrs ago mind. Not even sure if they are still there or even trading.
No connections, they just got me out of a hole.

Paul
 05 March 2010 07:24 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for OMS.
OMS

Posts: 19591
Joined: 23 March 2004

I think we may have some on a rewire job - all going in the skip at the mo so I won't promise. I'm on site next week so I'll take a look

Regards

OMS

-------------------------
Failure is always an option
 06 March 2010 09:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



ChrisGilbert

Posts: 136
Joined: 12 January 2003

A few years ago I bought a small job lot of new old-stock items of the old style MK Grid range including switches, sockets, grids, plates etc so as to get some parts needed for a job. In the end I only used a few of them and have at least one 5A 2-way switch left amongst the items. Happy to help out if I can.
 06 March 2010 12:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for RRichard.
RRichard

Posts: 1406
Joined: 11 January 2005

Do you mean like this ? http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/mk-old-s...T?hash=item3ca8fc2ded


I probably have loads in the shed, where about are you ?
 07 March 2010 03:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



geraldr

Posts: 29
Joined: 25 April 2005

Hi Mike
I had the same problem in January, if you have to change the full grid everything is a different size including the mounting box.
I managed to find an outlet in Leeds that seems to have a limited stock of most size and type of switches 1w, 2w, inters

will send details of outlet if interested

gedr
 08 March 2010 09:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



mikejumper

Posts: 1706
Joined: 14 December 2006

Originally posted by: RRichard

Do you mean like this ? ">http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/...d-s.....m3ca8fc2ded

I probably have loads in the shed, where about are you ?


Yes. that's the one, the 2 way version.
I'm in West Sussex.

I am back to that site on 24th March so it would be great to have one in the toolbox by then.

Perhaps anyone that's managed to lay their hands on one could PM me and we could go from there.

Many thanks for all your helpful replies.

Mike

Edited: 08 March 2010 at 09:19 PM by mikejumper
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.