Topic Title: How difficult to install TT system
Topic Summary:
Created On: 24 February 2010 07:50 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 24 February 2010 07:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

antric2

Evening all,
How difficult is it to install TT system.
Would it be recommended to have a go at installing one if I have never done one before or get someone to show how to do it then attempt an install.
Never have much call for TT'ing up here.
Opinions please.
Regards
Antric
 24 February 2010 08:04 PM

mikejumper

Is this a new installation or a change to an existing installation?
 24 February 2010 08:10 PM

tattyinengland

Is this a household? Commercial? or Industrial?
 24 February 2010 08:15 PM

antric2

Hiya Mike,
100 year old terrace.
Ze of 190ohms on what was presumed a TNS as it was clamped on the sheath as they usually are for TNS.
Utilities came out,stating the sheath was not an effective earth and the installation needs to be put on a TT system. They then pulled fuse and left install without any power until earth sorted
I personnally feel they should get straight back and either PME it or sort out problem because a comment was made that most of the locallity had no effective earths.
Interesting that in recent years the meter has been replaced with didi meter .....what tests do utilities do when they alter there side of the system.
 24 February 2010 08:22 PM

perspicacious

"Ze of 190ohms on what was presumed a TNS as it was clamped on the sheath as they usually are for TNS.
Utilities came out,stating the sheath was not an effective earth and the installation needs to be put on a TT system. They then pulled fuse and left install without any power until earth sorted.
I personnally feel they should get straight back and either PME it or sort out problem"