Increase font size
Topic Title: Barcode labels when PAT testing
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06 February 2010 12:55 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06 February 2010 12:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

novicetester

Hello all, I am new to PAT testing and was just wondering why somepeople use barcoded labels?

I have read in the code of practice that a label should have ID,Test Engineer, Test Date and Next test due date. altho most bar codes i have seen only have an ID number on them, doe this mean I have to put 2 labels on every appliance i test? one bar code and one with details?

Also there is nothing that i can see in the code of practice that states an appliance should keep the same ID for each test.

I havent as yet taken my course or done any PAT testing but I would of thought if an appliance had the same ID every year of testing this would make it very hard for the engineer if someone moved the appliance to another room, got rid of the appliance or replaced it with a new appliance, as if you had a numerical order tester this would be very time consuming come to the next test date would it not?

Is this the correct procedure or do you test an appliance then the next time its due retest, remove last years label and start again?

thank you for any help

novice
 06 February 2010 12:41 PM

dg66

The bar code contains certain information about the appliance,so when it comes to testing you plug the appliance into your PA Tester scan the bar code and the relevant tests are carried out automatically.

-------------------------
Regards

Dave(not Cockburn)
 06 February 2010 01:43 PM

alancapon

Originally posted by: novicetester
Also there is nothing that i can see in the code of practice that states an appliance should keep the same ID for each test.