Topic Title: RCD test on RCBO
Topic Summary: Never done it before!
Created On: 07 February 2008 06:33 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07 February 2008 06:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

beemer

Hi...I have never done a RCD test on a RCBO before and wanted some confirmation:
I will be replacing a shower unit, like for like, however, I will be replacing the MCB for a RCBO.
I am assuming that in order to test RCD times on my shower, I would use my test probes on the live terminals inside the shower unit, and reset RCBO when required at 50% of the rated tripping current and a further test at 100% of rated trip current.
Have always done sockets before so this is a first for me.
Constructive advice much appreciated...thanks

Dave
 07 February 2008 07:19 PM

charlieroad

Hi Beemer,
What tester do you have? don't forget when you are testing you need to test at 0 deg. and 180 deg.
50%, 100%, 500%. Record the slowest trip in each test. Bear in mind the 50%, should reliably hold - not trip.
I always test at the device, not switched on. This is made much easier with the Megger 1552 as it has an auto test, so you set it up at the device and just keep reseting the RCBO until it stops tripping. The results are recalled on the unit; it takes about 3 minutes from start to finish.

Make any sense or am I waffling?
 07 February 2008 07:40 PM

beemer

Originally posted by: charlieroad

Hi Beemer,

What tester do you have? don't forget when you are testing you need to test at 0 deg. and 180 deg.

Hi Charlie,

I have a Meterel Easitester, so test is done automatically.
testing at the RCBO will be much easier for me.....thanks for the advice.

Dave
 07 February 2008 07:41 PM

Testit

clearly I am confused.. u tested RCDs?

0 and 180deg, 1/2, 1, 5 times