Topic Title: WYLEX MCB replacements
Topic Summary: MCB tripping
Created On: 12 October 2007 12:28 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12 October 2007 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

wendyb

Hi !
Complete novice here... so bear with me!

I have just had a 9.8KW shower & 10mm cable installed. The electrician said a 40 AMP MCB would 'probably be ok so long as you don't run it on full power'.
I now find I can't use the shower without it tripping out. is it possible to buy a 45 or 50 AMP MCB for the following:
WYLEX
80AMP
240Vac 50HZ
BS5486 Pt:13
Cat no NNES 914

I hope this is the info needed. I wrote down pretty much any info i could find. The MCB's have Type 1 & Type 2 written on them. the electrician said it was an old one.

If I can't get one - what's the alternative???
Any advice hugely appreciated!
 12 October 2007 12:55 PM

OMS

Well,

Notwithstanding an abnormally long cable to the shower - a 9.8kW model should be hovering around the 41Amp mark - so in theory, if you are not in the habit of taking showers of about 4 hour duration this should't be a problem.

I would suggest that a competent electrician examines the whole installation - including taking a few measurements of actual current flow before taking the "easy" option of simply upping the MCB rating

Perhaps those with a more direct link to equipment availability will comment on the specific breaker swap

Regards

OMS

-------------------------
Failure is always an option
 12 October 2007 01:00 PM

perspicacious

Welcome Wendy

Long term, you ought to be concerned as to what certification you received from your "electrician" and whether your Local Authority Building Control are aware of this work being carried out, as from what you have described as his working practice, it is unlikely.

Regards

BOD