Increase font size
Topic Title: Maintenance apprentice, advice wanted
Topic Summary:
Created On: 19 January 2014 11:26 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 19 January 2014 11:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Lizzie

Hello! So I was recently very very lucky to have gained a maintenance apprenticeship with a water company. I have no previous experience in any form of engineering or even DIY!!! It must have been my "go get 'em" attitude and dazzling personality (haha)

Anyways, my job is part of a pump workshop, where pumps from within the company are sent, and we are required to fix them. I'm thoroughly enjoying it so far, but I keep beating myself up about a few things.

A month or two ago a small job came on and I was asked if I wanted to have a go at doing it on my own. I tested it, drained it, stripped it and got as far as I could no problems, then we had to order new parts which can take some time. A month later it came to putting the thing back together, and with some help from my mentor I got it done. Tested it and it all worked fine (woo hoo!) problem was we found a part on the floor that I had forgotten to put back in. I was told it wasn't an essential part of the pump and it would still work just fine without it. But I cant help but be a bit annoyed at myself for leaving it out. (It would have taken several hours if not a day or two to take the pump apart and build it again with the part in)

So my question is...Does anyone have any advice on how to keep track of parts? Is writing it down step by step as I take them apart the best way of keeping track? It can be quite hard to keep a piece of paper clean in the workshop, and taking a glove on and off can be a chore.

Any advice appreciated!

Lizzie
 19 January 2014 09:14 PM

peteTLM

Welcome.