Increase font size
Topic Title: Words of wisdom needed for apprentice
Topic Summary:
Created On: 26 December 2013 02:55 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 26 December 2013 02:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Fred123

Hi I'm a mechanical engineering apprentice working in a CNC machine shop. I'm doing an Nvq in cnc so it is a must that I work in there. I'm also studying for a hnc in mechanical engineering.

My problem is I feel like I'm rubbish at practical engineering skills such as setting cnc machines and manual lathe and milling work. I feel like maybe I would enjoy working in the planning office as a future career. Obviously I'm just going to have to work hard At what I'm doing now to pass the framework but wondered if I wanted to change after would my apprenticeship help me in getting a job in the planning office or anything.
 16 January 2014 11:09 PM

l30f1tz

You are an apprentice! You are there to learn so don't be thinking you are rubbish at your job.

When I served my time working as an apprentice electrician its very easy to feel overwhelmed when you see experienced people doing something easily that you may have struggled with. Its all down to experience, you learn from your mistakes and will improve as time goes on.

If you are struggling doing some CNC/lathe stuff, ask experienced people to give you a hand and guidance. For instance I'd say, I seen you doing x will you show me how you do that as its better than the way I do it etc. Most people are more than willing to help you just have to ask.
 17 January 2014 06:27 PM

kengreen

I second the above Post.

You have to decide whether your strength lies in your hands or in your head?

Every skill requires a period of learning and always remember that advice from Winston Churchill - "Never give up; never; never; never; never; NEVER! "