IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Should I learn another language? Final year Beng electrical electronic engineering
Topic Summary:
Created On: 27 November 2013 01:43 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 27 November 2013 01:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

sidera3142

Hello All

My first post here!

I was thinking of learning another language. Do employers like the fact that you can speak another language? I am currently studying final year Beng electrical electronic engineering at Derby uni. I was thinking of learning a language were there is a good industry in my subject such as; German, Chinese or Japanese ? My idea was that if I had another language, when in employment, I could be sent to do work overseas? .....always had a dream of doing some traveling!

Thanks
 30 November 2013 06:43 PM

kengreen

Hello,

You have waited a fair time without a reply? Maybe some of the following remarks may help?

The ability to speak/understand more than one language must always be an advantage especially as it is reckoned to be a good training for the brain; but of course it is the most useful when your language skills lie in the most-used of languages.

The "languages of science" are broadly English, German and (perhaps) French and Russian and amongst the catch-up brigade Chinese. However Chinese and Japanese are even more difficult to master than English!

If you can master your second language to a sufficient standard there is always work as a translator of technical documents. The difference between a translator and an interpreter is that the last has to work in "real time" and be very familiar with the idioms of both languages and their technical jargon - that is a rare skill.