Increase font size
Topic Title: Engineering companys in Devon
Topic Summary:
Created On: 27 September 2013 05:13 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 27 September 2013 05:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

jimflounders1984

Having sent my CV to well over 20 companys this summer and only hearing back from 1 or 2, i was wondering if anyone knows of any Electrical Engineering companys that take on students on a part time basis. Im in my second year of a 3 year degree (Electrical/Electronic). Based in Torquay but can commute to Plymouth/Exeter. Im a time served Electrician but have no hands on Engineering experience, we have started to use PLCs as part of our course (primarily Schneider) and we are also using LabView, Veijio, MultiSim etc. It seems by browsing through jobs pages on a daily basis that experience is worth more than qualifications in a lot of places so getting some experience on my two days off a week seems like a great idea if i can get my foot in the door somewhere.
Any advice, recommended compnys i might not have heard of etc would be of great help and would be appreciated
Jim Flounders

Edited: 01 October 2013 at 07:49 PM by jimflounders1984
 28 September 2013 02:58 AM

kengreen

hello Jim,

I hate to pour cold water but I fear you are on a very sticky wicket in the West Country. You will not find any "big" companies because, in truth, Cornwall - and to some extent Devon - present serious problems.