IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: BA in English or Bachelor of Creative Writing?
Topic Summary: in a US university.
Created On: 19 May 2013 12:35 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 19 May 2013 12:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

SAVIO

Dear All,

I'm an electrical building services engineer with 20 years of experience. My boss said I should improve my English as English is not my 1st language. I wish to seek your opinion whether I should apply for a BA in English or a Bachelor of Creative Writing in a US university. My goal is after I completed the degree, I can really improve my English.

Any advice is welcome!

Many thanks in advance.
 19 May 2013 10:31 AM

SAVIO

Dear Alan,

For your information, I have a BEng(Hons) in Electrical Engineering and a distance learning MBA.

My boss said I should improve my written English. He always asks me to re-write my draft letters and mark-up tons of comments on my drafts. :-(

Actually, I have already applied for a Bachelor's degree in a US university and I still have time to choose between a BA in English or a Bachelor of Creative Writing.

I really wish to improve my written English, but not sure which should I choose?!

20 May 2013 04:02 AM

SAVIO

Dear Alan,

For your information, Tier 1 US university costs around US$40,000-50,000. Mine is only a Tier 3 US university. :-(

The University says a Bachelor of Creative Writing is a standard degree course offers in the department. Whereas they don't normally offer a BA in English. But, they will work out with the student the final award.

So, I prefer to take the easy route, i.e. a Bachelor of Creative Writing.

Frankly, what do you think about my written English for someone English is not his 1st language?
 20 May 2013 09:59 AM

SAVIO