IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Electronic and Systems Engineering for Power Engineering
Topic Summary: I'd love some advice on which stream to take.
Created On: 10 August 2012 05:54 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10 August 2012 05:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Emma890

I'm currently a second year university student on a four year course, and have studied Electronic Engineering up to this point. However I really want to follow a career working with energy generation or power electronics.

My university doesn't do electrical engineering as a stream, so I'm currently choosing between Systems (more modelling and control) and Electronics (more technical but not necessarily all relevant) for my final two years.

I've got very little idea as to what sort of areas of knowledge would be useful for working in this sector, so I was wondering if anyone who has some experience could give me some advice on which way to go?

I know all universities have different courses, so this is what the third year would look like for both streams:

Electronics:
Communications Systems
Fundamentals of Modern VLSI Design
Analogue and Digital Systems Design
Signal Processing

Systems:
Quality Techniques
Electrical Machines and Power Systems
Measurement and Instrumentation
Signal Processing
Systems Modelling and Control

Thanks!
 11 August 2012 10:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

MAWilson