Topic Title: Graduated and unemployed
Topic Summary: Where do i go from here?
Created On: 14 March 2012 04:12 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 14 March 2012 04:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

BenignIndividual

I graduated last july with a 2.2 hons. I've looked around and applied to 5 or so places since then that look interesting and good to work for, however i usually don't even get a single response, i've worked on my CV and covering letter in an attempt to improve the situation and that has'nt helped. Its soon going to be a year since i graduated and i'm beginning to feel incredibly worthless.

It feels like having a 2.2 Beng won't get me on any graduate scheme i look for, any advice how i should proceed in beginning a career?

I applied to
SSTL
Qualcomm
Nuclear Graduates
Siemens
RIM

and got no response.

Edited: 14 March 2012 at 04:42 AM by BenignIndividual
 14 March 2012 06:15 PM

peteTLM

How about the other 100 or so applicable companies out there?

Presuming an E/E BEng how about, BT, Veolia, EDF, UKPN, Laing O'Rourke, Murphy, selex galieo, network rail, etc etc

There is always job adverts on the IET website as well.

-------------------------
----------------------------------------
Lack of planning on your part doesn't make it an emergency on mine....

Every man has to know his limitations- Dirty Harry
 14 March 2012 06:57 PM

mbirdi

Originally posted by: BenignIndividual
It feels like having a 2.2 Beng won't get me on any graduate scheme i look for, any advice how i should proceed in beginning a career?

One year is far too long to be out of a job and it's going to get tougher competing with the next batch of newly qualified graduates.