IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: [Career Question] How far do my degree cover my works?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 25 March 2011 12:54 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 25 March 2011 12:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

glam04

Hello All,

I am a recent graduate with an upper second class honors degree in Electrical Engineering.

I am curious to know how the vocational qualifications are rated and if a BEng degree contributes to any exemption in requirements to become a qualified electrician?

I have worked in a power plant for about an year as a engineering student and also I know the wiring regulation in detail. Now, if I want to be self-employed and do domestic installation, what certifications/exams do I need to go through or do I get any discount because of the course I have done?

I would welcome any guideline!

thanks

-------------------------

25 March 2011 11:36 AM

simongallagher

Why not become an Engineer?
 25 March 2011 12:38 PM

glam04

@simongallagher
Unfortunately, in this economic climate, the employers seem to be alergic to recent graduates!

25 March 2011 02:47 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

peteTLM

what experience do you have in domestic installation?

If you wanted to register with one of the self certify schemes you would need 2382 as an absolute bare minimum. 2391 would prove your competency in testing.
If you wanted to go the NVQ3 route, you have until next weds to register or it will be gone forever and replaced with an electrotechinical diploma. The NVQ would be useful if you wanted a JIB card or wanted to work for someone else at some stage. You would need an ECS card to get onto a building site.
This has been discussed to the death on the wiring and regs forum.
Good luck.

P

----------------------------------------