IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: advice - HNC or another option?
Topic Summary: fully qualified electrician - career progression
Created On: 04 April 2010 05:53 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04 April 2010 05:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

sippa

Hey there,

I'm looking for some advice.

I am a fully qualified electrician (2391, 17th Edition, 2360 parts 1+2) currently working as an electrical foreman.

I want to progress into electrical engineering/design. I am looking to build on my existing career and qualifications as, at the age of 30 and with commitments, can't afford to be starting at the beginning again. I don't have a degree but have good GCSE/A Levels and seven years' experience as an electrician.

Would a HNC course in Electrical Engineering be the best thing I could do? Or can anyone recommend another route I could look into, or people I could contact?

Any and all advice would be very much appreciated!!

Thanks
Simon

Edited: 04 April 2010 at 08:55 PM by sippa
 07 April 2010 10:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

westonpa

If you have commitments then I am assuming you will need to either do evening study or distance learning.

1. I would also look at your local college/university and see if they have anything which you could commit too.....and if so go and have a chat with them.