IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: I want to be an Electrician?!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 29 April 2009 12:23 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 29 April 2009 12:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

gavinbowyer

I'm 32, and would like to become a qualified Electrician. I have no previous experience. What is the best way for me to achieve this?

Have been considering doing a homestudy course to get 2382 and 2391. Perhaps with Link removed or Link removed .

Does anyone have any advice for me please?
 29 April 2009 12:43 AM

Matttern

2382 and 2391 in there own rights will not make you an approved electrician.
I would look at completing a c&g 2330 Electro Technical, or a c&g 2356 in electrical installation.
If you can gain employment in the trade, then the 2356 would be my favourite. If you are starting from scratch then it may be worth your while to contact a local college and see what courses they offer. If you have prior experiance in electrical installation it will make your task a lot easier

Regards

Matt Turner TMIET

Edited: 29 April 2009 at 12:45 AM by Matttern
 29 April 2009 04:06 PM

jockspark

hi as mattern said contact your local college
be aware of
pay me ££££££££££££££££ and i will make you
an electrician
 29 April 2009 07:40 PM

gavinbowyer

Hi Jock,
Thanks for taking time to reply. I quite liked the idea of paying to become an Electrician. Carrying on in my current job and paying £6000 to get qualified would be cheaper than going down to £10000 salary as an apprentice for me.
Why are homestudy courses not a good idea? Is it because it's impossible to learn without experience ? Is there another route other than appenticeship ?
 29 April 2009 08:24 PM

gavinbowyer

Hi Matt,