Topic Title: Any recommended HNC Electrical Engineering courses
Topic Summary:
Created On: 22 September 2006 10:10 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10 November 2009 06:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

westonpa

Originally posted by: Spency205

Hi everyone,

I have read with interest all the posts in this subject as i am looking for a career change into the electrical field.

I have no electrical background other than interest, although i am a technically minded person, have a radio amatuers licence etc so am familiar with electrics and electronics to a certain extent. I would like to break into the offshore or renewables industry, possibly as an electrical technician, but would do whatever job was necessary to get a start.

Distance learning isn't a problem for me, i had to do professional exams in my current job so am well used to it!

I am 31 years old, married and a young family so the apprenticeship route isn't really an option for me, i just coudn't take the pay cut required to do it. I am considering the HNC electrical route as mentioned in this forum. Has anyone on here got offshore experience and if so, is it possible for me to get an electrical position offshore with the HNC electrical ? Obviously i would have to do all the RGIT survival etc also. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Very difficult without some experience to back up the qualifications, especially in the current economic climate. You may not like electrical engineering at all and then you would be really up the creek. With a young family I think you need to be realistic.....you mention taking a pay cut which suggests you have a reasonable wage to consider. I suggest two considerations for you: