Increase font size
Topic Title: TPN Dist board used as single phase
Topic Summary: any views?
Created On: 02 March 2015 10:03 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02 March 2015 10:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Zs

Hello,

Please forgive my typing...it is a laptop in a freezing cold hotel and the proper keyboard is in the van at the job. They honoured me with secure parking so I walked here. I'm not good at laptop but giving this a shot.

I have today encountered something I am not familiar with and in truth I am not comfortable with it. I'd like to run this past you if you have time. This is an I&T of a large, prestigious apartment block. A valued client.

The DBs for the landlord services such as cleaners' sockets and corridor lighting are Memshield 6 way (I think range 3) DBs and are Three Phase and Neutral boards. The main switches are only three phase and the neutral section is blanked, so the neutral is just bolted to the bar. I'm ok with that. On the whole the installation looks to be good and professional. Day one here and only a couple of silly mistakes have shown up.

But, the DBs have been connected so as to use only one phase. So what we've got is an incoming single phase into L1 and then a 6 or 10mm single core between that and L2 and then another between L2 and L3. Effectively , a daisy chain link making the different phase breakers in the board effective. I feel all young because I've never seen it before in such a grand place as this.

Ultra minimal current demand, about 4 amps on each board and only then when I've run up and down stairs to activate sensors. practically no earth leakage, average 1.7mA on each DB so far.

It works.... Way off what I would do, but any reason for it to be condemned?

Except this, which you might help me to understand a bit better..