IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Whats a good quality home security system these days?
Topic Summary: For both exterior and interior that could also connect to a mobile...
Created On: 22 June 2017 03:37 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 22 June 2017 03:37 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message



tomgunn

Posts: 3933
Joined: 25 May 2005

Hi all... just thinking about fitting a few exterior cameras plus also like the idea of internal cameras that link to your mobile phone...

Any good ideas of makes and models?

Cheers...

Tom

-------------------------
Tom.... (The TERMINATOR).

handyTRADESMAN

Castle Builders
 23 June 2017 07:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Jaymack

Posts: 5377
Joined: 07 April 2004

Originally posted by: tomgunn
Hi all... just thinking about fitting a few exterior cameras plus also like the idea of internal cameras that link to your mobile phone...Any good ideas of makes and models?

The wrong ball park, (although ). I use this forum for such problems: -
https://www.diynot.com/diy/forums/alarms-cctv-telephones/
 23 June 2017 01:48 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message



tomgunn

Posts: 3933
Joined: 25 May 2005

Why? This is electrical and fitted within the scope of wiring?

-------------------------
Tom.... (The TERMINATOR).

handyTRADESMAN

Castle Builders
 23 June 2017 01:51 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message



tomgunn

Posts: 3933
Joined: 25 May 2005

Heres a post of a similar theme re; CCTV's....

CCTV's

-------------------------
Tom.... (The TERMINATOR).

handyTRADESMAN

Castle Builders
 23 June 2017 02:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



burn

Posts: 250
Joined: 06 June 2003

Originally posted by: tomgunn

Why? This is electrical and fitted within the scope of wiring?


The lack of answers perhaps?

burn
 24 June 2017 06:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



aligarjon

Posts: 3875
Joined: 09 September 2005

well i tried to answer the other day and the site was down for maintenance. I fitted 2 UCAM247live cameras at hope a couple of months ago after a load of local van break ins and burglaries locally.

They were quite expensive compared to some that you see but very pleased now i have them working.

I have an app on the phone to view them and delete files etc. I opted for a large memory card rather than cloud storage.

I found them a faff to connect to my wifi network but then thats probably me being thick. If you need to change the router you would either need a very long ethernet cable to set them back up or take them back down as you have to hard wire them to connect the wifi.

Picture is great, takes a bit of trial and error to set them up, one of mine does the drive only so not too bad, the other picks the road up so lots of triggers.

Checked them every day for a week or so now i don't bother unless i need to check something.

They have infrared for night viewing, this does attract bugs sometimes, i ended up fitting a security light above the drive camera in the end and turning infrared off. This stopped a lot of false triggers. If there is an incident with drive camera i can check the front one for the same time of day rather than search hours of footage.

I have set it to record for a minute after it triggers but you can do what you want.

Overall i am very happy with them.

Gary

-------------------------
Specialised Subject. The Bleedin Obvious. John Cleese
 24 June 2017 10:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Fm

Posts: 1743
Joined: 24 August 2011

Have a look at Arlo.
Netgear toe dipping into CCTV.
 25 June 2017 05:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



ebee

Posts: 6347
Joined: 02 December 2004

Tom,
Try googling Risco then ring technical might give you some good ideas.

-------------------------
Regards,
Ebee (M I S P N)

Knotted cables cause Lumpy Lektrik
 25 June 2017 10:35 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message



tomgunn

Posts: 3933
Joined: 25 May 2005

Originally posted by: aligarjon

well i tried to answer the other day and the site was down for maintenance. I fitted 2 UCAM247live cameras at hope a couple of months ago after a load of local van break ins and burglaries locally.



They were quite expensive compared to some that you see but very pleased now i have them working.



I have an app on the phone to view them and delete files etc. I opted for a large memory card rather than cloud storage.



I found them a faff to connect to my wifi network but then thats probably me being thick. If you need to change the router you would either need a very long ethernet cable to set them back up or take them back down as you have to hard wire them to connect the wifi.



Picture is great, takes a bit of trial and error to set them up, one of mine does the drive only so not too bad, the other picks the road up so lots of triggers.



Checked them every day for a week or so now i don't bother unless i need to check something.



They have infrared for night viewing, this does attract bugs sometimes, i ended up fitting a security light above the drive camera in the end and turning infrared off. This stopped a lot of false triggers. If there is an incident with drive camera i can check the front one for the same time of day rather than search hours of footage.



I have set it to record for a minute after it triggers but you can do what you want.



Overall i am very happy with them.



Gary


Hello Gary... many thanks for your reply! Its good to know what you have used and I'll take a look... thank again matey!

regards - Tom

-------------------------
Tom.... (The TERMINATOR).

handyTRADESMAN

Castle Builders
 25 June 2017 10:37 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message



tomgunn

Posts: 3933
Joined: 25 May 2005

Originally posted by: Fm

Have a look at Arlo.

Netgear toe dipping into CCTV.


Hi Fm... Thanks too for the info... much appreciated along with the other replies!! Its good now as I have a few to search through - cheers - Tom

-------------------------
Tom.... (The TERMINATOR).

handyTRADESMAN

Castle Builders
 25 June 2017 10:42 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message



tomgunn

Posts: 3933
Joined: 25 May 2005

Originally posted by: ebee

Tom,

Try googling Risco then ring technical might give you some good ideas.


Hello Ebee... I have not heard of 'Risco', nor the other replies here either... so these are systems that I will try out and its good to hear what problems people have too... yes I could do a Google search for CCTV systems, (and I did take a peek the other day when no replies came up here... but as you can guess... the amount to check out on Google was far too much... plus, which ones to try??? So, its a better bet to get info from the people on this great site), but I know the best place to get feedback and ideas are from here... cheers chaps!!

regards - Tom

-------------------------
Tom.... (The TERMINATOR).

handyTRADESMAN

Castle Builders
 25 June 2017 10:44 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message



tomgunn

Posts: 3933
Joined: 25 May 2005

Have a nice weekend everyone!

regards - Tom

-------------------------
Tom.... (The TERMINATOR).

handyTRADESMAN

Castle Builders
 25 June 2017 04:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Fm

Posts: 1743
Joined: 24 August 2011

You could look at the Kare range of digital recorders, then just pick cameras

http://www.cctv42.co.uk/shop/cctv-cameras/
 25 June 2017 04:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



geov

Posts: 393
Joined: 22 February 2004

Tom, We use Dahua HD cameras, choosing an appropriate min 1TB hard drive. Link to an existing router and with an app (Dahua or others), link up to our customers smart phone/iPad etc.
We find them fairly good value with good reliability.
 25 June 2017 04:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



AncientMariner

Posts: 726
Joined: 14 December 2004

Hi Tom

I wanted to fit a good system at my home a few months ago. Came across https://www.hdcctv.co.uk/ and very pleased with their help and purchase.

I went for a https://www.hdcctv.co.uk/products/hd-ip-cctv-security-cameras-nvrs/hd-ip-cctv-security-cameras-1080p-4-megapixel/hd-ip-4-megapixel-motorized-lens-bullet-ip-cctv-security-camera-x2c4000bmp.html camera and a https://www.hdcctv.co.uk/products/hd-ip-cctv-security-cameras-nvrs/hd-ip-nvrs-network-video-recorders-1080p-4-megapixel-poe/hd-ip-professional-4-camera-poe-network-video-recorder-k-x2r4n.html recorder.

The camera (I have one at present, with option for 3 more on that recorder) is powered via the CAT5 network cable. I can connect additional cameras either in the same way, or by connecting the recorder to my network, can connect via that network, which is handy to hide cables. If via an external port, then a Power-over-Network adapter, or a 12volt 2.5mm supply is required for that camera. Can also be accessed remotely via the internet. You can view live either via a monitor connected to the recorder (HDMI or VGA) or via the network.

I had one query (I should have read the instructions and watched the video) but was answered straight away over the phone - a video codec setting.

Can recommend.

Clive

-------------------------
Clive S Carver GCGI IEng MIET MITP
 26 June 2017 08:41 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message



tomgunn

Posts: 3933
Joined: 25 May 2005

Originally posted by: Fm

You could look at the Kare range of digital recorders, then just pick cameras



http://www.cctv42.co.uk/shop/cctv-cameras/


Hi.. wow... these look the top of the range... gotta check the costs against how much my house is worth... theres so much out there and it'll from one of you that I'll pick from... cheers!

Tom

-------------------------
Tom.... (The TERMINATOR).

handyTRADESMAN

Castle Builders
 26 June 2017 08:46 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message



tomgunn

Posts: 3933
Joined: 25 May 2005

Originally posted by: geov

Tom, We use Dahua HD cameras, choosing an appropriate min 1TB hard drive. Link to an existing router and with an app (Dahua or others), link up to our customers smart phone/iPad etc.

We find them fairly good value with good reliability.



Hi and thanks... before I started to get replies on here I had a look though the web, (Gordon Bennetty!), and it came up a couple of times about the HD's... on a few sites it recommended using specific HD's like either Western or Seagate, I think, have you found any problems in other HDs?

Thanks... Tom

-------------------------
Tom.... (The TERMINATOR).

handyTRADESMAN

Castle Builders
 26 June 2017 08:52 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message



tomgunn

Posts: 3933
Joined: 25 May 2005

Originally posted by: AncientMariner

Hi Tom



I wanted to fit a good system at my home a few months ago. Came across https://www.hdcctv.co.uk/ and very pleased with their help and purchase.



I went for a https://www.hdcctv.co.uk/products/hd-ip-cctv-security-cameras-nvrs/hd-ip-cctv-security-cameras-1080p-4-megapixel/hd-ip-4-megapixel-motorized-lens-bullet-ip-cctv-security-camera-x2c4000bmp.html camera and a https://www.hdcctv.co.uk/products/hd-ip-cctv-security-cameras-nvrs/hd-ip-nvrs-network-video-recorders-1080p-4-megapixel-poe/hd-ip-professional-4-camera-poe-network-video-recorder-k-x2r4n.html recorder.



The camera (I have one at present, with option for 3 more on that recorder) is powered via the CAT5 network cable. I can connect additional cameras either in the same way, or by connecting the recorder to my network, can connect via that network, which is handy to hide cables. If via an external port, then a Power-over-Network adapter, or a 12volt 2.5mm supply is required for that camera. Can also be accessed remotely via the internet. You can view live either via a monitor connected to the recorder (HDMI or VGA) or via the network.



I had one query (I should have read the instructions and watched the video) but was answered straight away over the phone - a video codec setting.



Can recommend.



Clive


Hi Clive... so much to choose from on here now... but its watered down my search so cheers everyone! The SITE you posted on here is very professional... time to choose... I gues I have to balance cost and quality as you really only get what you pay for!

Thanks to all! Tom

-------------------------
Tom.... (The TERMINATOR).

handyTRADESMAN

Castle Builders
 26 June 2017 10:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Fm

Posts: 1743
Joined: 24 August 2011

I specify IP cameras at work and DVR's that cost an arm and a leg.
That's work cause it needs to tick lots of boxes.

I'm happy with a £100 DVR and 1TB drive and a few waterproof camera.
Total cost £250.
nithing wrong with cheap and cheerful, as long as the image quality is decent.
We had a lot of 540tvl analogue cameras ripped out that gave decent imagery, just the recorders were pants
 26 June 2017 11:11 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message



tomgunn

Posts: 3933
Joined: 25 May 2005

Originally posted by: Fm

I specify IP cameras at work and DVR's that cost an arm and a leg.

That's work cause it needs to tick lots of boxes.



I'm happy with a £100 DVR and 1TB drive and a few waterproof camera.

Total cost £250.

nithing wrong with cheap and cheerful, as long as the image quality is decent.

We had a lot of 540tvl analogue cameras ripped out that gave decent imagery, just the recorders were pants



Good point - I wasnt too worried about the cost per HD - its just that I read on a few sites to get the ones I mentioned above... I would guess most HD's cost about the same.

Thanks - Tom

-------------------------
Tom.... (The TERMINATOR).

handyTRADESMAN

Castle Builders
Statistics

New here?


See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2017 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

..