Increase font size
Topic Title: "Competence" required for portable appliance testing
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01 April 2016 08:07 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01 April 2016 08:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

davidwalker2

I am a volunteer at a steam museum, a charity run by volunteers and open to the public. We are currently restarting our portable appliance testing after the testing machine developed a fault and the previous volunteer left.

We are mostly professional engineers, many registered, in various disciplines, mostly retired and electrically competent but not electricians. We are purchasing a new machine (Seaward) as the old one will cost as much to repair and calibrate.

The person who has volunteered to do the testing is an aeronautical engineer by profession and has a good understanding of the theoretical side of PAT testing, e.g. legal requirements, risk analysis, types of equipment, types of testing, record keeping requirements, etc. However the regulations state that the person doing the testing should be "competent".

Can anyone advise as to what we would need to show if there was a need to demonstrate "competence"?

David
 01 April 2016 11:07 PM

broadgage

I suspect that the person to whom you refer is in practice competent to carry out PAT testing.
It might however be worth while for them to attend one of the courses that are offered, often known disparagingly as "half day wonders"
I have little faith in someone already competent actually gaining much from such a course, but they do provide a useful bit of paper for a**e covering and for satisfying insurance companies.
 05 April 2016 08:47 AM

lyledunn

David,