IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Be Honest. Do you twist concuctor ends before termination?
Topic Summary: Do you terminate single earth conductors without doubling over?
Created On: 11 January 2015 05:39 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11 January 2015 05:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Zoomup

Posts: 3265
Joined: 20 February 2014

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yx063dxU4ng
 11 January 2015 05:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



peteTLM

Posts: 3715
Joined: 31 March 2005

9 minutes to put a cooker switch on. Id be bankrupt if i carried on like that.
What was he trying to achieve by trying to use CABLE SHEARS to strip the cable. Oh dear.
Who done the plastering, stevie wonder?

No i dont double up/ bend over cpc connections. However if it dosent achieve a suitable connection (1.5mm solids into a memshield 2 earth bar designed for 16mm conductors springs to mind,) then i might consider it.

Yes i twist stranded conductors otherwise they just splay out everywhere..

Amateur.

-------------------------
----------------------------------------
Lack of planning on your part doesn't make it an emergency on mine....

Every man has to know his limitations- Dirty Harry
 11 January 2015 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



potential

Posts: 1630
Joined: 01 February 2007

Yes I'd probably double up the earth.
After watching how the wires were stripped, the terminations tightened just the once and the wires shoved back into the box I would want to check everything that installer did when he left.
 11 January 2015 06:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



Manxie

Posts: 246
Joined: 08 January 2015

Slow and rough!
Also just watched the same guy install a cu.
Finished job looked like a birds nest!
He even had the balls to show his face at the end...
No shame whatsoever
 11 January 2015 06:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



peteTLM

Posts: 3715
Joined: 31 March 2005

You should see the state of his other video changing a consumer unit. MCB's all leaning over, 1 rcd for the whole board, meter tails stripped with teeth by the look of it. Spaghetti.
I love to support people, and always try to be positive and give encouraging feedback to people, but this guys not a good example.

-------------------------
----------------------------------------
Lack of planning on your part doesn't make it an emergency on mine....

Every man has to know his limitations- Dirty Harry
 11 January 2015 06:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



spinlondon

Posts: 5494
Joined: 10 December 2004

Yes inner cores were again too long.
All very well advising not cut them too short, he should also advised to ensure none of the conductors get caught by the fixing screws.
 11 January 2015 08:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



mapj1

Posts: 9346
Joined: 22 July 2004

In answer to the OP, I try and at least half fill the terminal with copper, so I will double back wire ends as required to do this, and multistrand needs ferrules if its thin strand flex or twisting if its fatter stuff.
But no, not quite like that !! Still, he's left enough slack for it to be remade a few times if required.

Things need to lie comfortably, tighten, be given a wiggle to shake em down, and retighten if required (which on the large stuff is quite often.)

-------------------------
regards Mike
 11 January 2015 09:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



stateit

Posts: 2668
Joined: 15 April 2005

Write to the manufacturers and ask them.

I did when I was bored one day. MK, Wylex, Scolmore, Crabtree.

MK must have had a slack day on the day I wrote in as they replied (no others did).

They said insert conductors straight, not doubled over, and not twisted.

Remember that MI override other regs. So now go back to all your installs and undo what you have done...

-------------------------
S George
http://www.sg-electrical.com
 11 January 2015 09:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



leckie

Posts: 4317
Joined: 21 November 2008

Well I think the AM3 version has changed the manufacturers bit. It will now be required to consider the manufacturers instructions. I think! I haven't yet got the book. And not yet anyway.

Edited: 11 January 2015 at 09:41 PM by leckie
Statistics

New here?


See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2017 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.

..