Shop cart


Century for IET CMgr

It's a century for IET CMgr registrations.

Andrew Robins, the 100th applicant to achieve CMgr status via the IET Andrew’s role as Head of Engineering at Twiflex is a combination of technical leadership and engineering management, and he has overall responsibility for mechanical engineering design, new product design and R&D.

It was a matter of timing that led to Andrew’s application for CMgr – he’d recently completed his Chartered Engineer (CEng) application when he received a leaflet inviting potential CMgr applicants to attend a webinar. “It was something I hadn’t considered previously, but as I take my management responsibilities seriously I thought I would take the opportunity and put myself forward,” he says. Today Andrew looks after a team of seven engineers, but his career actually began as a mechanical craft apprentice at the company. After completing a HND, Andrew applied for, and was awarded, Incorporated Engineer (IEng) status.

Further education

After ten years at Twiflex he moved to a new company, Allianz Engineering, where he worked as a lift and crane engineer surveyor. During his seven years there, he gave up his free time to study, topping up his qualifications to gain a First Class BEng Honours degree. He then chose to return to Twiflex as a mechanical design engineer and was promoted into his current role in 2010. “This is my main career highlight,” he enthuses. “I was relatively young for a position of this seniority at the time, and my line manager showed a lot of faith in my ability by giving me the opportunity,” he says.

Proven leadership

Having been in a management role for only four years, Andrew believes he’s still “relatively new” to managing people or departments, but during his time in the job he’s been able to show a strong level of technical and commercial leadership. He believes achieving CMgr status allows him to come across as a more well-rounded professional. “Like me, many engineers are also practicing managers. CMgr provides recognition of my status as a professional manager and a commitment to continued professional development,” he says. “I believe it can help career prospects through management recognition and the fact it demonstrates dedication to my profession, plus CMI membership opens up access to all kinds of useful resources, practical advice and learning tools that will help me do my job more effectively and make me a better manager,” he continues. “I’d definitely recommend it to others, plus as an added bonus, IET members get a 50 percent discount on standard CMI fees. If you’re serious about your management responsibilities, want professional recognition as a manager and access to great management resources and advice, then apply!”