Churchill Medal Award 2013/14

The Professional Engineering Institutions (PEI) Award.

Celebrating achievement in engineering and technical advancement in support of military operations, the IET is proud to lead on the awarding of the Professional Engineering Institutions (PEI)* Churchill Medal.

We are proud to announce that the winner of the 2013/2014 Churchill Medal Award is Sgt Kevin Cuthbert REME for his specialist repair of vehicles and broad spectrum of tasks in support of operation HERRICK.

Previous Medal Winners

This prestigious award, inherited from the Institution of Incorporated Engineers (IIE) has been previously presented to individuals such as Sir Frank Whittle (Jet Engine), Sir Geoffrey de Havilland (Aircraft), Sir Christopher Cockerell (Hover Craft) and Professor Alan Wells (Wells turbine for wave power).

Since the reinstatement of the award, the three previous winners have been:

2012/13 Medal - Captain Pip Lines REME for her work in support of Operation HERRICK;

2011/12 Medal - Sgt Simon Nurse R SIGNALS for development of the networking solution for situational awareness across the Operation HERRICK Cortez system;

2010/11 Medal - Flt Lt David Ramsey RAF for his work in the development of technology to counter improvised explosive devices on Operation HERRICK.

Criteria for the Award 2014/15

The award is for an individual or a small team (the majority of whom are serving members of the armed forces or were serving at the time) for achievement in engineering and technical advancement in support of military operations during the period 01 April 2014 to 31 March 2015.


Managers or Commanding Officers of qualifying individuals or teams are asked to submit written citations. These should not exceed 1000 words and can include a maximum of one diagram and one photograph.


The deadline for citations for the 2014/2015 award will be released in early 2015. 


Mark Organ
Head of Membership
The Institution of Engineering and Technology
Michael Faraday House
Six Hills Way
United Kingdom

+ 44 (0)1438 765685
+ 44 (0) 7889 317908


* Consisting of the Institution of Engineering and Technology, the Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology, the Royal Aeronautical Society, the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, the Institution of Royal Engineers, the Society of Operations Engineers and the Institution of Civil Engineers.