Increase font size
Topic Title: CEng Application Form Query
Topic Summary:
Created On: 23 November 2012 02:07 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 23 November 2012 02:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

chendry12

Dear IET

I have seven years experience in the design and execution of process control and instrumentation systems in the power industry. I am currently assembling my application for CEng and have a query on the format of the latest edition of the application form (2011).

I would be grateful if somone can clarify which section the competency statements have to be entered in the application form. Traditionally, i beileve it was via a seperate 'competency report' which addressing each area of competency as a seperate area/question (20 Q's). Would the IEC accept a seperate competency report document even though its not catered for in the latest edition of the application form ?

Cheers,

Chris
 23 November 2012 09:45 PM

DavidParr

Hello Chris,

I suggest you simply annotate section J with the relevant competence letters, on a paragraph by paragraph basis. This helps you to ensure that you have all 16 competences covered, and it can help the assessors to understand where you are coming from as they read through your form. Just add the competences at the end of each paragraph:

blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah
blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah
blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah [A1, B2, C3]

If you need someone to give you individual advice, you can either contact a local PRA via the IET website, or alternatively send me a PM if you would like me to help.

-------------------------
David Parr BSc.CEng MIET
PRA
 18 December 2012 09:02 AM

chendry12

David,

Thanks for the advice. Thats understood.