Increase font size
Topic Title: career change
Topic Summary:
Created On: 25 March 2010 11:36 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 25 March 2010 11:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

pandaspot

hi

I am currently working for a local council, in an office dealing with benefit claims.

I have always had a keen interest in electronics etc and have decided enough is enough, i need a career change.

i am 30 and looking to retrain.

i have signed up to do a city and guilds basic electronic engineering course online. is it any good?? i will continue the training with other courses. just wondering whether i have made a mistake signing up for this course or is a good first step as i have no experience

thanks for any advice

sarah
 25 March 2010 02:03 PM

mbirdi

It looks a good first step into electronics. Seems like a joint run thing between C&G and ICS. The only downside is it doesn't tell you where you go from there? Can you move on to BTEC after you qualify? Price looks a bit steep. Their GCSE and A level courses are priced at £249 and £299 respectively in comparison.

At £413 it had better be a good course.

Good Luck!

Edited: 25 March 2010 at 02:10 PM by mbirdi
 25 March 2010 06:05 PM

westonpa

What is your background qualifications and experience....before the council job?

What are your career aspirations?

It's admirable to take the 1st step but it's wise to also consider where you are going.

The UK is not exactly awash with electronics jobs and there are plenty of students already looking for work and 1000's more about to graduate......that's your competition.

Regards.
 26 March 2010 12:50 AM

eswnl

Originally posted by: westonpa