IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: JFET Guitar Amplifier Advice
Topic Summary: Should I use a source bypass capacitor?
Created On: 21 August 2012 12:29 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 21 August 2012 12:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

amillar

I'm building a simple JFET guitar amplifier for home - just an impedance buffer really so that I can plug guitars straight into the mic input of my mixer. Most circuits I can see on the web are common source amplifiers but with no bypass capacitor on the source resistor. Although I'm not an expert on discrete circuits (to put it mildly!) wouldn't a source bypass capacitor be a good idea? Or doesn't it make any difference in practice? Anyone here got any experience?

See, for example, the circuits at www.till.com

Thanks,

Andy

-------------------------
Andy Millar CEng MIET CMgr MCMI

http://www.linkedin.com/in/millarandy

"The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress." Joseph Joubert
 21 August 2012 01:20 PM

ectophile

I'm no expert on analogue electronics either, but my immediate thought is that if you added a capacitor, it could muck up the frequency response by presenting a frequency-dependent impedance to the source.

In particular, if you stick a capacitor in parallel with R1, then the impedance will drop at high frequencies.

S P Barker BSc PhD MIET

Edited: 21 August 2012 at 11:00 PM by ectophile
 22 August 2012 11:57 AM

amillar

Ok, with a bit more browsing and thinking I think I understand what the idea is now - perhaps someone could confirm I've got this right?