Increase font size
Topic Title: Electronics Engineering in Oil and Gas Industry
Topic Summary: Oil and Gas Industry
Created On: 03 July 2010 01:00 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03 July 2010 01:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

bigbri

Can anyone help?,

I am due to leave the Royal Navy Submarine Service as an Electronics Engineer. I have a BSc in Engineering, Cisco CCNA, 17th Edition wiring regs, and a Graduatship In Leadership and Management (and 22years in Engineering).

Does anybody out there work in the Oil and Gas industry who knows what opportunities lie out there for a chap like me, with the above experience/quals.

All I keep hearing is doom and gloom in the industry and how difficult it can be to get in.

Surely a chap, like me, used to working in harsh environments could get a foot in the door. I understand there are all sorts of Technician type jobs out there, but find it difficult to get anyone to part with this information, oil related.

Even considered ROV pilot/Technician, but that has even more Doom and Gloom attached to it !!!!

Any help would be greately appreciated,

Thanks, and regards,

Brian
 10 November 2011 06:51 PM

james0212

Hi Brian,
I've retired after 25 years in oil & gas, electrical and instrument engineer onshore and offshore, lots of experience all over the world. Sad to say there's not been much in the UK for over 20 years, I went with a French firm who seconded us to Total Oil, Abu Dhabi & Indonesia, and my last position was 9 years with Kuwait Oil. But Brits are getting thin on the ground now as the old skills die out.