Topic Title: Main Protective Bonding of Plastic Services - with internal metal
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11 February 2013 08:14 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11 February 2013 08:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

djtip

Apologies for the length of this post, but please stay with me.
As a newbie I am after some advice and clarification of the OSG.
Ref 4.5 (Page 41) 'There is no requirement to main bond an incoming service where the incoming service pipe is plastic, e.g. blue for potable water.'
It goes on to say 'Where there is a plastic incoming service and a metal installation within the premises, main bonding is recommended unless it has been confirmed that any metallic pipework within the building is not introducing earth potential (see 4.3).'

The reason for the question is that one of the jobs I have been asked to quote for has the LV supply on one side of the building into the garage and the water supply on the other side of the building and NO bonding at all. The job is to replace the CU, for which bonding is one of the initial considerations.

To get a conductor from the garage to within 600mm of the incoming water supply will not be easy. Need to cross the garage, cloak,hall and kitchen), initial view is either:
up into loft from garage (not too difficult), cross to other side then chase internal wall down through bedroom into kitchen,
or as above but trunk conductor down corner of bedroom and kitchen,
or take up carpet and floors on 1st floor landing and use this space but would still need to trunk down corner of kitchen,
or chase out solid ground floor and bury cable
or go round outside of house in trunking, but this crosses back door and patio doors so not easy either.