IET logo
 
IET
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Thermostat
Topic Summary: cable to use
Created On: 22 February 2010 10:35 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 22 February 2010 10:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



nige296

Posts: 76
Joined: 04 December 2009

Not knowing the data of the new combi boiler, I am in the process of wiring the themostat should i use twin and earth or 3 core and earth?
 22 February 2010 10:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



daveparry1

Posts: 6377
Joined: 04 July 2007

I would use 3+e in case the stat needs a neutral!
 22 February 2010 11:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



mikejumper

Posts: 1824
Joined: 14 December 2006

Although it will work with just L and S/L, if you don't have a neutral then there is no voltage placed across the resistor when the switch operates.

The resistor prevents the room temperature swinging too far past the selected temperature by creating a tiny amount of heat within the thermostat. This counteracts the delay in the thermostat sensing the actual room temperature. So best to go for 3 core: L S/L & N if you have the opportunity.
 24 February 2010 12:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for Dale76uk.
Dale76uk

Posts: 412
Joined: 04 February 2010

depends on the boiler, most models commonly rely on a current being passed through to the S/L connection. Its normally fitted with a wire link between two terminal blocks. I usually run a 1.5 T+E. However, like others have suggested, check the boiler manual incase it requires a Neutral. New Glowworm, Baxi models have the 2 wire system.
 24 February 2010 12:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



DOUGIE1000

Posts: 4187
Joined: 13 August 2005

3core, and dont cut off the unused cores.

Remember combi boiler will last 15years and your cable will outlast boiler so next boiler might require a neutral at the stat even if current boiler doesnt

-------------------------
Dougie
Power Plus Electrical.co.uk

My mission is to live as long as possible......so far so good!
 24 February 2010 05:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



MrAmps

Posts: 386
Joined: 11 December 2006

I always install 3 core+E

MInd you, came across an underfloor heating package the other day that needed 4 Core for the stats!

Dont assume - check
 24 February 2010 05:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message


Avatar for stateit.
stateit

Posts: 2227
Joined: 15 April 2005

For crying out loud.

In a normal domestic situation I really wonder who actually would notice or be bothered with the difference between a stat with neautral and a stat without.

If it's too cold you turn the stat up, if it's too hot you turn it down.

-------------------------
S George
http://www.sg-electrical.com
 24 February 2010 08:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



mikejumper

Posts: 1824
Joined: 14 December 2006

Originally posted by: stateit
In a normal domestic situation I really wonder who actually would notice or be bothered with the difference between a stat with neautral and a stat without.

Probably just the die hard eco warriors because where a neutral is required, but not connected, the boiler runs a tad longer than necessary to reach the selected temperature.
 25 February 2010 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message



AJJewsbury

Posts: 11768
Joined: 13 August 2003

In a normal domestic situation I really wonder who actually would notice or be bothered with the difference between a stat with neautral and a stat without.

My other half did... (she seems to be able to sense 0.5 degree errors, especially when below the setting)

- Andy.
Statistics

See Also:



FuseTalk Standard Edition v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.